Introduction

Hey there!

My name is Michelle Bedke and I graduated from University of Maryland, College Park in December 2014. My major was Chinese, and as a language major it is almost unheard of not to at least travel to a foreign country. For the majority of my undergraduate career, I simply did not have the time or means to study abroad; I hadn’t lived with my parents since I was 17, and as such, I was completely independent. I was a commuter, and on top of a full course load I worked full-time.

As time went on, things got much easier, and I found myself with the time to study abroad, but still not the means. When it was time to look for a program, I visited UMD’s study abroad website, looking for the money to pay for my trip. In addition to being awarded a scholarship from our scholarship office, I received a study abroad stipend from our Intelligence Center for Academic Excellence chapter, and the Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship.

gilman-scholarship

If you have always wanted to study abroad and think that you do not have the means, I implore you to visit your study abroad office, and speak to everyone you can. While the Gilman Scholarship was by far the most competitive, I was actually awarded with it twice (the first time, I really could not spare a semester away from home). Applying may seem a bit daunting, but we have some fabulous faculty members who can be with you every step of the way. Take a look, ask around, and you will be on your way in no time!

Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship

umd-ball

UMD Education Abroad

Get the Money!

 

Leave a Reply

